Children 2-16 years

The Cistercian Route

The Cistercian Route was created in 1989 and is one of the most complete from amongst the current range of cultural tourist options, as well as being the most important of inland Cataluña. The regions of Alt Camp, Conca de Barberà and Urgell form part of this route.

The Monasteries

Poblet Monastery

Vimbodí is where the Poblet Monastery is located, the largest of the entire route and the only one that still hosts a community of monks.Founded in 1150, it continued with its activities without a problem until 1853.  Thismonastery is the largest inhabited Cistercian complex In Europe and has been declared Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO.

Monastery of Santes Creus

The Monastery of Santes Creus, located in Aiguamúrcia, was founded in 1150 and is the one that best reflects the type of construction governed by the Bernardine directives. Given that this monastery has no monastic life, because the monks were secularized in 1835, this is a unique opportunity to enjoy a tour around this Cistercian building and find out about the different legends that surround this monastery.

Vallbona Monastery

The Vallbona Monastery, located in Vallbona de les Monges, it is the only female monastery on the route and has preserved the community for over 850 consecutive years. First mention of this small monastery dates back to 1150 but it wasn't until 1176 when it became fully integrated into the Cistercian order.